21st century

image

Any time a person needs motivation or comes up with a belief/idea , the only thing he/she gets to hear is -“come on ! You’re in 21st century! ”

So how has this affected our principles , virtues and spiritual belief ?
Many people decide not to speak out loud only because of the fear of getting shunned by the idea of this so called modern and advanced 21st century.

It so happened,  that one of my acquaintances once asked me about the beads I constantly wore around my neck . On explaining to them about its spiritual and medical significance , all they said was – “you believe in all that ? Come on ! You’re a 21st century girl !”

So what ? If being modern means I have to give up my beliefs , spirituality , practices and peace of mind , I’d rather be conservative .

We expect the youth of 21st century to be broad minded .
Broad mindedness does not mean to forget or make fun of our roots , or other’s beliefs  . It is in fact quite the opposite .
Your attire does not make you modern .
You become modern by your thoughts and how you accept other’s thoughts .

Broad mindedness is when you accept that each person is a slave to their own belief and if not completely , at least try to respect that .
No one can force upon the other , a general idea . Not even parents .
You will understand these words if you have ever come across Kahlil Gibran’s poem “On children ” .

For example , my acquaintance believed , or I should rather say did not have the same beliefs as me and neither do many others like me nor me like them .
I cannot force them to think like me or share similar thoughts .

How is it completely okay to differentiate and discriminate people on the basis of caste , creed , religion , race and still call ourselves the modern youth of 21st century ?
And for heavens sake do not say that you haven’t discriminated at all .We all have . So have I .
Often we tend to identify or refer to a certain family or friend by their religion .
Why not identify them by their name , residence or a mutual friend ? Even occupation would do .
But we still tend to have stereotypes .

The beads and my acquaintance was only an example .

People are becoming more judgemental everyday .
Are we modern yet ? Are we fit to be in
The 21st century ”  ?

6 thoughts on “21st century

Leave a Reply

